Tags

, , , ,

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

It turns out that even though I can make a mean scrambled egg and some serious s’mores, I can still be taught lessons from my younger brother.  Not just cooking lessons,  although he handles a grill like a champ.  My brother has grasped the idea of being in the moment and being still. Less is more. More or less. In the past month we have gone camping together twice and to Florida once.  We went fishing and while he was content to be on the boat having caught sailfish in the past,  I wanted a fish.  With all of my concentrated efforts I caught a beautiful,  poisonous squirrel fish. We had to use a towel to throw it back, as one touch of an errant gill will leave you in serious pain.

My brother wants to be out on the water and in front of the fire and just sit. I want that too. And I’ve been doing it. Caution to the wind, I am swimming at night under that big harvest moon. Or i will just sit and look on. No judgment of my fears. Sometimes it’s good to put your knowledge and know-how aside and just be along for the ride. Let someone else take the reigns.  You won’t disappear.  The world won’t fall apart. Let your brother and his friends and your cousins wait on you while you sit and stare into the fire.  You may be surprised by what you find.

Happy Monday.  I have a ton of amazing recipes coming up (maybe even one for tomorrow). The kitchen has been busy. Cannot wait for you to see!

