Tags

, , ,

1-DSC_0344-001

Waffles are a serious ode to weekend days. To sleeping late and not getting dressed. They are a way to celebrate the luxury of having un-allocated time. I’ve only recently gotten into the habit of actually doing breakfast with something other than scrambled eggs and it’s so rewarding. Flour, butter, and mixing are where it’s at, especially when free time is so rare. I don’t normally like to post recipes that require special equipment, but you will need a waffle maker for this one.

The jam in this recipe was born of my inability to find the maple syrup I know I have. I had strawberries and rhubarb kicking around and so I figured they’d serve a purpose here. I didn’t even think I knew how to make jam or an acceptable accompaniment to waffles, until I remembered I made a plum sauce once and used it on pancakes. Ah hah! I also had two bananas that were way past ripe so in they went –straight to the waffle batter.

What I love about this particular waffle experience is that my waffles stuck to the top of the waffle maker and came out far from perfect. There was an element of whimsy involved with throwing the whole thing together and it working out just fine. I know there is a metaphor to be found here. Maybe it’s that we made it through the winter. With spring ingredients to top off a breakfast staple, I think I have just found excitement in sunlight and temperatures that don’t bite back. I also finally booked that trip to Miami that I was longing for in my post about arepas! Sometimes you have to suffer to appreciate what seems right and normal. The city, with its gorgeous tulips, hydrangeas and honeysuckles bursting open everywhere, is acting like the willful and stubborn war of attrition against the dismal and cold winter didn’t happen. I know that it did and we’re all stronger for not having capitulated. It’s also just cool to know that you can wake up and make something like this before you start running around to enjoy this new found inviting warmth.

1-DSC_0370

Banana Waffles with Strawberry Rhubarb Jam

Makes about 6 waffles

Ingredients:

 For the Waffles

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 very ripe bananas
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 3/4 cups milk
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the Strawberry Rhubarb Jam

  • 1 cup strawberries, cut in half
  • 1 cup rhubarb, chopped
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • juice of 1/2 lemon

1-DSC_0371

 Directions:

For the waffles:

Preheat waffle iron to about 400F. Beat eggs in large bowl with hand beater until fluffy. Beat in flour, milk, vegetable oil, sugar, baking powder, salt, bananas and vanilla, just until smooth. Spray preheated waffle iron with non-stick cooking spray or pour olive oil onto a paper towel and spread around. Pour mix onto hot waffle iron. Cook until golden brown (about 3 to 4 minutes). Serve hot.

For the Strawberry Rhubarb Jam:

Bring the rhubarb, strawberries, 1/2 cup of water, sugar and lemon juice to a boil, then simmer for 10 minutes, stirring every once in a while. With and immersion blender or in a food processor, blend until smooth. Remove from the flame but keep warm. Drizzle over waffles and store the rest in a ball jar in the refrigerator.

1-DSC_0337-001

1-DSC_0340

1-DSC_0346

1-DSC_0342

