Tags

, , , , , ,

Scones

I’m not the kind of person who makes scones. I don’t quaintly whip up a batch of something in the kitchen–the comfort of warm wholesome home-type activities wafting through the building….or am I? Apparently, I can be. And thus the danger of the “I’m not the kind of person who…” The scary realization is that I can be the kind of person who does anything. Be it out of character for me or not, the realms of possibility are endless. While I always have an eye for adventure and excitement, particularly involving food and drink, it’s important that I recognize the beauty and comfort in the every day. I need to stop every now and then to admire the astounding construction of the everyday that I’ve built around me, the special people and moments that add up and make a life. Since they don’t wear the dazzling clothing of an evening out or the thrilling allure of new people, places and adventures, if I’m not careful I will overextend and miss out on the subtle beauty that sustains my very being– the true and lasting stuff of life. And thus, after a long week of new work opportunities and fun evenings out, I returned to the kitchen to try out a simple scone recipe I’ve had in mind for a while. A return to the oven, sitting at the table in my pajamas, drinking homemade coffee and baking.

There is something to be said about grating frozen butter. It put a smile on my face. The attention to detail and deliberateness required in freezing butter and then grating it into the bowl rather than just throwing everything carelessly together was another reminder to slow down and really be present in the moment. I actually laughed to myself, “I’m grating butter. Next I’ll be wearing an apron.” Maybe I will! And I’ll wear it well! Who knew that baking THE BEST SCONES I’VE EVER HAD, btw, would be its own reward when I barely felt like getting out of bed? Sleep, rest and quiet are as priceless a commodity as pushing, aspiring, and being out in the world. And so a simple weekend hello to you from my pajamas on the couch on a rainy weekend.

Scones

 Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter, frozen
  • 1/2 cup raisins or dried cherries or fresh fruit
  • 1/2 cup non fat Greek cherry yogurt
  • 1 large egg

Scones

 Directions:

Adjust oven rack to lower-middle position and preheat oven to 400 degrees.

In a medium bowl, mix flour, 1/3 cup sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Grate butter into flour mixture on the large holes of a box grater; use your fingers to work in butter (mixture should resemble coarse meal), then stir in raisins.

In a small bowl, whisk yogurt and egg until smooth.

Using a fork, stir yogurt mixture into flour mixture until large dough clumps form. Use your hands to press the dough against the bowl into a ball. (The dough will be sticky in places, and there may not seem to be enough liquid at first, but as you press, the dough will come together.)

Rip into 8 even parts. Sprinkle with remaining 1 tsp. of sugar. Place on a cookie sheet (preferably lined with parchment paper), about 1 inch apart. Bake until golden, about 15 to 17 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes and serve warm or at room temperature.

Scones

Scones

Scones

cherry yogurt scones

Cherry yogurt scones

